NYC So Rocks

photo_092507_011.jpg

If you’ve followed this blog and still have not moved to or at least experienced a long term visit in New York City, then you are truly clueless. If you currently live in New York City and say that its too expensive, you too are truly clueless.

Today, after enjoying a free screening of Sean Penn’s “Into the Wild” and being reminded why I went into filmmaking, I ventured back downtown. I thought I’d cut through Bryant Park, which is always a nice way to head east and pow! Little did I know that it was some India Appreciation/Tourism festival in the park. At 9pm at night. The park was lit up. There was music, dancing on a big stage, rug and fabric sellers. And tons of people. I was just telling a new friend of my love for Bollywood and how much I’d love to shoot one of those films, and this was a wonderful dose. I had no idea what they were singing about, but I was enchanted.

After the event ended, I made my way down 5th Avenue. I passed someone in a “Frankie Says Relax” t-shirt (wow! The 80s are back. I, for one, was wearing my “University of Beverly Hills” off the shoulder t-shirt complete with a pink flamingo and rhinestones circa 1985). I admired the full moon. And stopped at 35th street to look up at the Empire State Building. I’ve never noticed this before, but the building sparkled with little lights on the top. I believe they were the flashes of visitors cameras going off. Amazing. From the outside, it might not have seemed as vibrant and mystical as McCandless’ journey in “Into the Wild”, but trust me it was just as divine.

Auntie’s Advice: Live a magical life. It’s not that hard.

~ by Cybel Martin on September 26, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
