If You Learn Nothing Else…

images-2.jpeg

This past weekend, I was visiting a friend at her beach house. Although we were surrounded by beach, sun, art, good food and wine, we noticed that everyone on the roads was so angry. And then those same people would stomp down the sidewalk and avoid eye contact. We wondered why they even left New York, if it was so vital to them to be inhospitable.

Later today, while my friend got herself a cup of coffee, I stayed outside and played with her newborn son. After minutes of “ooh” and “ahh” and “woo-hoo”, I realized that I had been in the way of someone trying to prune the flower hedges. I apologized and moved out of her way. She said that she saw how happy I was to be playing with the baby and she didn’t want to disturb me. And then she added, “I saw how you smiled at the baby and I wished someone would smile at me like that”.

“Well I am smiling at you like that” I beamed and gave her my best high wattage grin. Because – hell – I was thrilled and delighted to be surrounded by beach, sun, good food and friends. And she smiled a wonderful one back.

Auntie’s Advice: For the love of God, SMILE!!!

~ by Cybel Martin on August 14, 2007.

4 Responses to “If You Learn Nothing Else…”

  1. Our best asset, smiling is like penicillin for the blah.

  2. […] it does make a difference to the people you come in contact with.  Cybel’s post today on Auntie Carrie illustrate how little you need to do in order to bring some joy to someones […]

  3. […] it does make a difference to the people you come in contact with.  Cybel’s post today on Auntie Carrie illustrate how little you need to do in order to bring some joy to someone’s life. […]

  4. 🙂 I love smiling

Leave a Reply

 
