I’ve Been Put in My Place

images-4.jpeg

I believe snobbery has its value. I am a snob about my Martini. However, this article in the New York Times has put me in my place. That is, because I drink (Gasp! A lady faints) Vodka martinis. After reading this informative and splendidly arrogant article (I mean that in the best possible way), I’ve decided I will try a Gin Martini (redundant?) at my next social outing. Who’s with me?

And for future reference (I assume NYT won’t mind my posting this here), this is their list of the top Gins for a proper Martini.

BEST VALUE

Plymouth English Gin $22 *** 1/2

82.4 proof 1 liter

Subtle and elegant with crisp, lingering flavors of citrus and juniper: a martini in a dinner jacket. (Importer: Absolut Spirits, New York)

Junipero Anchor Distilling $35 ***

United States 86 proof 750 milliliters

Smooth, clean and very dry with assertive, classic flavors of juniper and citrus: a martini with one eyebrow raised.

Cadenhead’s Old Raj Dry Gin $50 ***

Scotland 110 proof 750 milliliters

Powerful, muscular and hot, but in a good way: a martini with a punch.

(Preiss Imports, Ramona, Calif.)

Seagram’s Extra Dry $15 ** 1/2

80 proof 750 milliliters

Surprisingly complex, with fruit, ginger, juniper and citrus flavors: a martini with a thesaurus.

Tanqueray London Dry Gin $22 ** 1/2

England 94.6 proof 750 milliliters

Crisp with a hint of mint and juniper flavors: a martini peeking out from librarian’s glasses. (Diageo, Norwalk, Conn.)

Hendrick’s $40 ** 1/2

Scotland 88 proof 750 milliliters

Unusual, intriguing floral aromas: a martini in a Hawaiian shirt.

(William Grant & Sons, New York)

Gordon’s London Dry $12 ** 1/2

United States 80 proof 750 milliliters

Gentle and harmonious with cardamom and nutmeg aromas: a martini in a gray flannel suit.

Bombay Sapphire London Dry $30 **

England 94 proof 1 liter

Jangly flavors of mint, herbs and citrus, with detectable alcoholic heat: a neurotic martini. (Bombay Spirits, Miami)

Quintessential London Dry $30 **

England 80 proof 750 milliliters

Smooth and direct, but with an odd, bittersweet flavor: a martini with a blemish. (White Rock Distilleries, Lewiston, Me.)

Martin Miller’s London Dry $32 **

England 80 proof 750 milliliters

Soft and slightly sweet, with floral aromas, but not a hint of juniper: a martini in pedal pushers. (Skyy Spirits, New York)

~ by Cybel Martin on May 3, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
