Brazilian Roots

folk1190thumbnail.jpg

I originally wrote this post for Review. Since I often play Bossa Nova music at my Speak Easys and certain friends tease that I am the Girl from Ipanema, I thought I’d re-post it here.

“I love to listen to Brazilian music when I paint: Gilberto Gil, Caetano Veloso, Stan Getz etc. I just read this absolutely fascinating article in the NY Times about the origins of Brazilian music: how it was influenced by Arabic culture & how its aesthetic was passed onto American Blues. I have to get my hands on the recently released “Musica Tradicional do Norte e Nordeste 1938,” It’s a 6 CD box set of Brazilian music circa 1938.”

Since posting this, I have learned that the CDs are not available in the US but everyone is chomping at the bit. Two people at Review did however find these useful links: A copy of the CD sold on Ebay and a link where you can hear several songs off of the CD.

Bom divertimento!

~ by Cybel Martin on March 20, 2007.

One Response to “Brazilian Roots”

  1. still can’t find it in the us (april 15, 2007)

Leave a Reply

 
