How To Succeed as a Freelance Artist

me1.jpeg

Until I complete my Silent Auction & Fundraising for my newest love, Fed Artist, I’ll post sections from my upcoming book, “Art Rules” on this blog. What’s most important is that I get the information out there. People have often asked me, how have I survived freelance? The lessons that I have learned as a filmmaker & a painter and wish I had been told some 20 years ago are in this book.

My Favorite Rule:

Every Artist Needs the Village People. Think of your friends. Some should wear different hats (yes, as diverse as the men in The Village People). Art friends serve a purpose. However, I’ve made a conscious effort to befriend doctors, lawyers, accountants, real estate brokers. Trust me – when you work freelance and have shotty health insurance. Having a good friend, who you trust & is also a doctor comes in handy.

Your Take-away. Is your selection of friends one dimensional? Broaden your friend pool. Generously share your art, party invites, interior design skills with them. And then feel confident that if you need quick legal advice, help buying your first home etc – you are protected and will probably spend less money and less time in the process.

~ by Cybel Martin on February 4, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
