Fun With Marketing

images1.jpeg

I was at this great party last night. There were a bunch of photographers and fashion types. I fit in nicely. Someone teased me however: I introduced myself as a Cinematographer. Later I mentioned my paintings. Then the host mentioned that I throw about four parties a year and we would be working together to help him with his marketing. The other guest gasped “you do marketing too? What don’t you do”.

Well – that’s it. I think. I do love marketing. I’m a marketing geek. I can’t stay away. I just find it so fascinating. And if you are a marketing geek too then you will be gleeful like a pig in mud with the blog Marketing ROI: Whims from Ron Shevlin. For starters, read his post on “The Unintended Consequences of Email Best Pracitces”. I was drawn to it b/c of my BCC dilemna. Its a very smart useful post.

However Ron’s paix de resistance is his suggestions for who should advertise on airport security bins.

Teaser:

  • Handi Wipes. “Cuz’ God knows what’s been put in these bins.”
  • Banks. “Bank with us. Our lines are shorter than this one.”

Click to read the whole post.

~ by Cybel Martin on January 12, 2007.

3 Responses to “Fun With Marketing”

  1. Thanks a lot for the kind words and link to my site. I would have emailed you directly, but if there’s a link to your email address on your site, I couldn’t find it.

    p.s. After reading through a few of your entries, I’ve come to a couple of conclusions:

    1) You go to a lot of parties.
    2) You and your friends (readers) must be young. The white text on black background is really hard for us 40+ year old boomers to read.

    🙂

  2. You know… I was just thinking the same thing. I changed the design of my site a few days ago. When I clicked on to your site, I noticed how clear and easy it was to read. I love how this one looks but might have to tinker until I find a way to be hip yet effective.

  3. p.s. I added a few more slogans… please check them out.

Leave a Reply

 
