Now I Get It

images-1.jpeg

I remember being 9 years old and entering my parent’s bedroom. Dad was on the floor. My mom, I think, was on the bed. Their eyes were glued to a small tv on the floor. It was December 8th, 1980. They were shocked, quiet, sad. Something terrible had happened but when I asked, all that I was told was that some musician had been shot. Pretty irrelevant to me and my life. I probably just turned around and left their room. Returned to my toys or sticker collection.

This month marks the deaths of Ed Bradley and Robert Altman. I guess it took hitting my 30s to see how artists are just as responsible for raising me and providing me opportunties as either parent. It was not necessary for me to meet either man to feel the honor of their life or the gravity of their passing.

~ by Cybel Martin on November 22, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
