Little Black Book

This has been the year of the hustle. I don’t think I’ve ever worked as much, as hard. I’ve spent a considerable amount of time creating relationships with new clients and new circles. However, I’ve lessened on Business 101: nurture old clients. Duh.

I took a stroll through my favorite library today (read: Barnes and Noble) and came across a gem of a book: “The Little Black Book of Connections” by Jeffrey Gitomer.

Here’s a tip that really resonated with me:

“The less you focus on your motive to meet, the more likely it is that your connection will be successful. Most people trying to connect have some sort of motive or need. That’s OK, depending upon when you make the ask. In my opinion, it should be later than sooner. First seek friendship and acceptance. In other words, drop your agenda and focus on connecting, not extracting. Is your focus short-term gain, or a long-term relationship?”

The take away for me is to not throw in the towel on a connection if it does not lead to an immediate sale or hire. Winning it in the future is better than never.

~ by Cybel Martin on October 18, 2006.

One Response to “Little Black Book”

  1. Very solid point. Things seem to work out when you are not so concern about yourself.
    Bob

Leave a Reply

 
