Keep Your Friends Close

I’ve said time and again that my greatest asset are my friends. I just ran into an acquaintance. Our mutual friend just royally screwed him over and I couldn’t understand why. If you ever watch People’s Court, you’ve seen just how many cases are between friends who go back 10, 15 years. Not that I am angel, but I do try my best to maintain my friendships.

Ben Sisario started what sounds to be a delicious new column for the New York Times on how to find cheap entertainment in New York. I disagree with the assertion that New York is expensive. It is, yet, thanks to all of my friends, I am inundated with free tickets or access to cool events. Most recently, I was given free tickets to previews of Seth Zvi Rosenfeld’s play “Everything’s Turning Into Beautiful”. It stars Malik Yoba and Daphne Rubin Vega. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I hate to write if I, or Auntie, can’t give you a “take away”. The simplest advice is to hook up your friends whenever you can, and they will do like-wise. If your friends are not connected in that way, there are other options. For example: there are two organizations that I rigorously volunteer for. Charitable organizations often receive tickets to events and pass them on to their volunteers. In the past, I have received free tickets to tennis games, museums and (the absolute best) Jazz at Lincoln Center.

~ by Cybel Martin on August 4, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
