A Healthy Disregard

I started reading “The Google Story” by David A Vise. As you probably know, the founders of Google tried to sell their idea/improved web search to Alta Vista (who?), Excite and Yahoo and they all turned them down. Page, of Google, mentions a phrase he learned in college called “Having a healthy disregard for the impossible”. I would add to this, we should have a healthy disregard for authority and the opinions of others.

Two producers recently gave me “feedback” on my work that was less than enthusiastic. Once I had a moment to reflect, I also realized that they hadn’t produced anything award winning nor distributed. I think we all instinctively know if we are creating our best, if its something of value and what can be improved. If I have no other advice to share, I would at least like to say next time someone rejects your work or idea, don’t see it as a reflection of your value but rather as their inability to see.

~ by Cybel Martin on July 18, 2006.

One Response to “A Healthy Disregard”

  1. We must be related

Leave a Reply

 
