Don’t Be Bashful

My Grandmother used to say this to me all of the time, usually as an encouragement to eat another banana pancake or helping of spaghetti. I consider myself pretty shy by nature (really) and have extended the use this line to remind myself to get “out there.” I know that this blog has been very very quiet the last few weeks. I’m honored that people even notice. However, I have good reason. Besides doing the NYC Summer party circuit, I have also been contributing & writing extensively for another blog: The Arsonist.

Side note: much in life is like high school. I was at a party recently and it seemed like I was the only one there who didn’t know other people. I swear that there were hugs going on everywhere. Air kisses. Slaps on the back. Like I had crashed someone’s class reunion. Still, I jumped in and introduced myself. I was amused that most people didn’t know others there as well and were relieved to create a new friend, or atleast friend for the next hour.

Next time you are in a similar uncomfortable, unwelcoming social situation, don’t imagine them in their underwear. Imagine them in high school. Most successful & creatively interesting people were the geeks way back when.

~ by Cybel Martin on June 26, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
