One Year

Recently, I read the autobiography of Carnegie. I’m all about using your money and resources to make a difference you think is necessary regardless of the political or economical climate. Apparently, he had a quote by Victor Hugo he kept posted on his mantle, that now lies propped up on my book case. “There is one thing stronger than all the armies in the world, and that is an idea whose time has come.” I’ve always been enchanted with the idea to come, not what has been done (ex: how many black female DPs have you seen recently).

Today is the one year anniversary of “Auntie Carrie’s Speak Easy”. A friend told me, in a very affectionate way, that I was crazy becasue I have a speakeasy. He’s right. AND, or I should say, yet my people gravitate to this absurd idea. I hope I’ve made Auntie and all of my other hustling ancestors proud.

~ by Cybel Martin on June 8, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
