All I Want for Christmas

Auntie and I high-tailed it out of New York Monday morning. (yes – this means no parties until the new year). Anyway, we have been appreciatively chilling in the desert and warming our weary bones. Yesterday we went to Trader Joes to pick up a few things for me, the vegetarian, to eat. (The house is currently stocked with Beef Patties, Curry Chicken etc). If anyone out there truly loves me they will build a Trader’s in lower Manhattan. There had been rumors of one going up in Union Square to compete with Whole Foods. That’s the stuff dreams are made of. We dashed in the store and 20 minutes later, I left with 4 shopping bags that racked up only $35. Jasmine rice. Ginger granola. Sesame noodles. Etc.

This past Sunday, there was an article in NYT about “artist flight” in New York and how that is having a negative impact on the real estate market. I don’t think most artists aspire to be “starving artist”. I think most are like me. Stay in the borough that I love. And a local grocery store where one bag of diverse delicious food does not cost the same as a canvas, a camera rental or a trip to MOMA.

~ by Cybel Martin on December 21, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
